The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?  (Read 4999 times)

Offline neilep

  • Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 20602
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
See this Nuclear Power station ?




Nice isn't it ?

Lots of people being busy all inside and doing nuclear making stuff !

So, my simple question is....can a nuclear power station supply it's own power ?

whajafink ?





« Last Edit: 12/10/2007 18:09:10 by neilep »


 

another_someone

  • Guest
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #1 on: 12/10/2007 18:53:26 »
Not sure what you mean by the question?

In terms of supplying power before it starts running - clearly not; but once it is up and running, then although it may need emergency generators to ensure it does not lose power to the emergency management systems, then I do not see why not (after all, if you are in a nuclear sub - where else are you going to get your power from?).
 

Offline neilep

  • Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 20602
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #2 on: 12/10/2007 19:12:00 »
Thanks George,

I figure that they start by using lots of rubber bands and then when it's and running they just flick a switch  ;)...and voila...they are in self powering mode.

I gather they must then get their initial power from generators then, or would they be hooked up to the national grid as well. ?

I just thought it quirky that a nuclear power station ,which supplies power, might receive it's own power directly from itself rather than from the grid that itself is supplying to !...
 

lyner

  • Guest
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #3 on: 13/10/2007 00:06:22 »
The only energy you need to get a reactor going is what is needed to withdraw the control rods enough for enough neutrons to hit enough uranium 235 nuclei. then you're cooking.
The generator sets need to be kept rotating slowly at all times or else the shafts will sag and they will vibrate off their beds when run up to speed. A small 'donkey engine' keeps them going with power from the grid.
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #4 on: 13/10/2007 00:59:50 »
When I was at the old Sizewell station in Suffolk (many years ago before it shut) I think they were pumping out about 500 MW and said that they use something like 10% of that in running the plant. So the answer is yes, the power-station uses its own power, once it is generating some!

If anyone has any updated figures on my 10% - such as it's totally outlandish - please correct me.

Chris
 

Offline Bored chemist

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8669
  • Thanked: 42 times
    • View Profile
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #5 on: 13/10/2007 17:43:17 »
I don't know about nuclear stations but I did visit a coal fired one once. They had a jet engine there connected to a "small" generator (ie the size of a car) so that, if the entire grid failed, they could start up the jet engine (from a store of compessed air I think) and use the power from that to start up the main system.
I guess nuclear stations have a similar back up.

BTW, "The only energy you need to get a reactor going is what is needed to withdraw the control rods enough for enough neutrons to hit enough uranium 235 nuclei." How do you run the cooling/ circulating pumps? How do you find your way round the building in the dark?
« Last Edit: 13/10/2007 17:45:04 by Bored chemist »
 

Offline lightarrow

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4586
  • Thanked: 7 times
    • View Profile
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #6 on: 13/10/2007 18:45:46 »
So, my simple question is....can a nuclear power station supply it's own power ?
whajafink ?
I think that, if a nuclear or any other power station couldn't supply even it's own power, then what that power station would be built for? To waste energy and money?  :)
 

Offline Bored chemist

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8669
  • Thanked: 42 times
    • View Profile
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #7 on: 13/10/2007 19:48:30 »
The first nuclear power station in the world was built to produce plutonium. It also made electricity. The nuclear reactors that were built before it didn't make elecrticity, just plutonium and tritium.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sellafield#Calder_Hall_nuclear_power_station
 

lyner

  • Guest
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #8 on: 14/10/2007 23:39:28 »
Good point BC!
 

Offline eric l

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 514
    • View Profile
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #9 on: 15/10/2007 08:08:39 »
I remember that as a kid I asked similar question about all kind of things, like "Where does the furniture (benches and such things) in a carpenter's workshop come from ?" or "Who supplied the steel that was used to build the steel factory ?" or "who made the blacksmith's hammer and anvil ?"
 

lyner

  • Guest
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #10 on: 15/10/2007 14:23:31 »
Who takes care of the caretaker's daughter when the caretaker's busy taking care?
(Bobby Darin - early sixties, I think)     
 

Offline Bored chemist

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8669
  • Thanked: 42 times
    • View Profile
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #11 on: 15/10/2007 19:23:28 »
How does the snow plough driver get to work?
 

lyner

  • Guest
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #12 on: 16/10/2007 22:33:09 »
har har
 

Offline Pumblechook

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #13 on: 08/12/2007 23:21:55 »
I suspect it has two 11Kv feeds from the grid (from different areas) and diesel generators.  Essential to have power in case of emergency.
 

The Naked Scientists Forum

Does a Nuclear Power Station Supply Itself With power ?
« Reply #13 on: 08/12/2007 23:21:55 »

 

SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums