The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: what is wrong with my ribs  (Read 3266 times)

Offline i am bored

• View Profile
what is wrong with my ribs
« on: 09/01/2008 22:09:37 »
last night my karate instructor decided do put some Major punishment on my ribs.

first he told me to lay on my back and put my arms above my head then told the other students there to start kicking me and i took alot of rib shots, then he told one of them th stand on my stomach then told the other one to get on me, then he told them to get off and he got on (keep in mind he is 250 pounds, a little less than twice my weight) then i told him to get off because i thought he broke one of my ribs,

now they hurt to the touch and they hurt when i laugh or lean to my right side, i know they aren't broken because if they was i wouldn't be able to get up, I'm thinking they are either bruised or cracked but then again I'm only 14 and I'm not an anatomy expert

Offline Karen W.

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 09/01/2008 22:35:48 »
You could very well have a broken not cracked rib. My brother in law broke several falling off a roof and it hurt bad but, he did get up went to the hospital.. and they found several ribs broken and a couple cracked ones..

You should have that checked .. Is your mom home yet??? You need to get checked and don't do to much as if it is broke you could risk puncturing your lung and that is not good!

Whatever strength training or endurance training that was sucks... Sorry It would make me angry for someone to do that to my child.. regardless of the reason.. I know it is for strengthening, but that is a bit much! I am glad you made them stop! Get it checked!

Offline turnipsock

• Beekeeper to the unsuspecting
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 09/01/2008 23:10:12 »
I think the term is 'popped a rib'...it hurts doesn't it?