The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Dissolution of Metallic Silver into Silver ions in aqueous media  (Read 6393 times)

Offline vickysuryaputra

• First timers
    • View Profile
 :-\
I am a practicing dentist, and I have a patented invention in dentistry which uses silver for disinfection. The instrument made of silver when kept in the root canal in presence of biocompatible calcium hydroxide solution, releases silver ions which sterilizes the root canal. The instrument has grooves running along it so as to increase its effective surface area. At present i am planning to do further studies on this instrument using PCR and AAS.

I wud like to know which aqueous solution leads to maximum production of silver ions from silver metal. I am looking for a biocompatible solution in which i can place the metallic silver instrument, leading to the production of silver ions and thus sterilizing the area around the instrument. I am interested in solutions like Calcium hydroxide, Chlorhexidine gluconate, Sodium chloride an d any such biocompatible solutions.

Offline lightarrow

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
:-\
I am a practicing dentist, and I have a patented invention in dentistry which uses silver for disinfection. The instrument made of silver when kept in the root canal in presence of biocompatible calcium hydroxide solution, releases silver ions which sterilizes the root canal. The instrument has grooves running along it so as to increase its effective surface area. At present i am planning to do further studies on this instrument using PCR and AAS.