The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: George.. Help.. I have questions , regaurding Linux on my computer??  (Read 8194 times)

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
I lost my whole windows system yesterday!

We could not save anything.. But we caught it before it damaged my motherboard and my friend installed linux' something like that.He says it is about impossible to get a virus. so That my boys who come and go to the wrong places will quit giving my computer bugs and viruses!

I need to be able to make my cut and copy and paste work by using my mouse instead of typing in code.. is that possible to change my mozilla browser bar to do that?

I should be more clear it will copy but not paste into my gmail.. but it will paste to the note pad feature..and it said I needed to adjust my browser, by editing the browser.. to do that.. But I don't know how!
« Last Edit: 23/01/2008 05:55:09 by Karen W. »


 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Linux is an operating system, not a total environment such as Windows. Whereas Windows comes with its own GUI (Graphical User Interface), Linux itself does not. It needs a bolt-on GUI such as Gnome, KDE or Motif. They all have a different look & feel, so it comes down to personal preference.

Some versions of Linux (e.g. Debian) come with a GUI. Ask whoever installed Linux for you to whack a GUI on too. There are plenty of free ones around.
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Ok Is there some way to see if he already did? He did say something about gnome!
 

Offline Simulated

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 7188
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Simulated..What more do you needa know :P
    • View Profile
    • Facebook
Ain't linux mac? Or is it its own brand?
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Ain't linux mac? Or is it its own brand?

Some versions of Linux can run on Macs.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Ok Is there some way to see if he already did? He did say something about gnome!

I'm not sure because the version I've got came with a built-in GUI.
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Ok He did install Gnome it is on here. under system!
 

Offline teardrops421

  • First timers
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
I installed Ubuntu Linux on her computer (was curious if she would ask questions about it). You should be able to cut and paste directly, just make sure that both applications are open when you cut and paste since Ubuntu does not have a clipboard (just keep both apps open and take my word for it if you don't understand). To the other post Mac osx is a unix based operating system that has its roots in a distribution of Linux called Darwin.
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Hey you.. All fixed I found the right edit tool! What you doing up so late? Thanks again,

Welcome to the site Damien!
« Last Edit: 23/01/2008 05:56:57 by Karen W. »
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Hey how do I get an address bar up so I can copy my Urls when needed.. Does this Mozilla on here have a visible address bar like explorer or the other mozilla program..?
 

another_someone

  • Guest
Sorry, I know this was addressed to me, and I did not get around to doing anything about it.  Problem is that I primarily use Linux on my server, so rarely bring up a GUI on it (in fact, since the latest upgrade, the GUI configuration on that machine has been broken - although I can still use a GUI is I boot up from a Live CD, such as Knoppix).

As for Mozilla - that is what I use under Windows (or, more accurately, FireFox, since that is what the browser in Mozilla has been rebadged as).  Not sure why you do not see an address bar, since I have one sitting just to the right of the icons (because of the large number of icons I have, and the fact that I to the right of the address bar, it is a bit cramped, but it is there).
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Hi George here is my screen, I can't find an address bar with a copyable address bar. I can go to tools and pull up the google bar, but no address bar. Is it here and I don't see it?



 

another_someone

  • Guest
OK - click on the 'view' menu button.  You will have a menu drop down, and the top option will be 'Toolbars'.  Select that, and another menu will appear - make sure the entry marked 'Navigation toolbar' has a tick next to it - and if not, then click on that option, and a tick should appear (as will your icons and your address bar).
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
YAYYYYYYYYYYYY! Thanks George I was stumped.. But its not hard to do... Thank you!
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
ALL FIXED..........YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
I like being able to right click and reload the page with the mouse. I have never done that before. it is more convienent!
 

Offline Carolyn

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3761
    • View Profile
George is awesome!  He's talked me through repairing my computer I think 3 times now. :)

 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Yes he is! Damien too. I am very Grateful he fixed my computer!
 

Offline neilep

  • Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 20602
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
I agree ..George is great.

He came and built for me an extension to my house and made it that my gas and electricity is free ....and he made my car use water to run.
 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
LOL Clever chap he is! LOL... Seriously Thanks George!
 

Offline Spanner_Monkey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
This is something I've wanted to explore for a while. There is a lot of parts of a software that I use that are only written for Linux.
 

Offline that mad man

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 724
    • View Profile
    • My music
Wow Karen W. you are going the way of Linux, great stuff.  [8D]

It can be frustrating at times so keep at it. ;)

To be honest very few of the Linux "flavours" come without a desktop of sorts. I'm typing this on xubuntu and which uses the xfe desktop and has the xclipboard installed. I can cut and paste without having 2 windows open.

So you could Install the "xclipboard" or "glipper", use the package manager to select and install any software. With glipper you should then have an item on the system tray that keeps track of all the clipboard items and its history.

 

Offline Karen W.

  • Moderator
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *****
  • Posts: 31653
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
I am used to Microsft windows and this is a lot different. I am not sure of a lot of things but so far so good. Damien is great about answering questions. I just asked in here because I knew some of you used it also. Damien will help too I just need to call him.. you all were right here.*smiles*

That is what this is.. I must say I figured out the paste thing. and like the simplicity in what I have seen so far. It is back to being fast again like it used to be.. so that is good. Thanks guys and I am sure I will have plenty of questions for eveyone..about this system! LOL
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
I agree ..George is great.

He came and built for me an extension to my house and made it that my gas and electricity is free ....and he made my car use water to run.

He taught me how to brew super-strong cider without the use of townhall steps, got my council tax reduced, made me an olympic-size swimming pool out of washing-up liquid bottles and sticky-backed plastic, and got my donkey pregnant!
 

another_someone

  • Guest
and got my donkey pregnant!

Now I am getting worried - what is it you are suggesting of me?
 

The Naked Scientists Forum


 

SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums