The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How do I modify a power supply to make a chlorate cell?  (Read 6907 times)

Offline tylerb

  • First timers
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
I'm making a chlorate cell. I recently bought a PSU(A-Power Golden Deluxe 680W 20+4-pin ATX PSU ) for the power supply, but dont know how to hook everything up ???.

Can someone who has made a cell give a detailed explanation on how to get the power supply working ;D?

What wire do i use?
Which connectors do i put the wires in(i want it to output 5v @ 50A)?

thanks
« Last Edit: 08/04/2008 09:01:36 by chris »


 

Offline tylerb

  • First timers
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: How do I modify a power supply to make a chlorate cell?
« Reply #1 on: 01/03/2008 00:33:06 »
Can I use this tutorial: newbielink:http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Computer-ATX-Power-Supply-to-a-Lab-Power-Supply [nonactive]

I will be running it a little less then a week at a time, could it stand going that long?
 

Offline tylerb

  • First timers
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: How do I modify a power supply to make a chlorate cell?
« Reply #2 on: 01/03/2008 22:58:04 »
It took me 4 hours to modify the PSU, but it works great ;D!!!
 

Offline tylerb

  • First timers
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: How do I modify a power supply to make a chlorate cell?
« Reply #3 on: 03/03/2008 01:04:43 »
for some reason it is only outputing 5v, even on the 12v line, anyone know what the problem could be?
 

Offline tylerb

  • First timers
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: How do I modify a power supply to make a chlorate cell?
« Reply #4 on: 04/03/2008 00:53:27 »
After looking at a couple tutorials I found that the psu has sense wires( orange or grey that are a different gage). My psu has both, should I solder them together and then to the 3v wires?

There is also a purple wire and the psu wont start unless its hooking up, is this another sense wire?
 

another_someone

  • Guest
Re: How do I modify a power supply to make a chlorate cell?
« Reply #5 on: 04/03/2008 03:28:36 »
OK, looking at:

http://www.formfactors.org/developer/specs/ATX12V_PSDG_2_2_public_br2.pdf
and
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer_power_supply#Wiring_diagrams

I am guessing you need to pull up pin 16 with a TTL signal to get it to drive the 12V supplies.

The 5V supply you are presently getting is probably a standby supply, and the PSU is waiting for the motherboard to tell it to soft start, which I suspect it does with pin 16.

Don't shoot me if I'm wrong.

I would be wary about soldering lines together without even putting some sort of load resistance between them (but then, I don't actually have any experience with anything current in this field).
 

The Naked Scientists Forum

Re: How do I modify a power supply to make a chlorate cell?
« Reply #5 on: 04/03/2008 03:28:36 »

 

SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums