The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: The physcological side to rape, what do you think?  (Read 8603 times)

Offline stana

• Dare to be yourself!
    • View Profile
I'm not deranged in the head, I just wanted to share my idea with you.

Okay, here it goes.

When i was watching a crime program on the television a few nights ago. I seen an interview with a girl that was raped. I have seen a few other interviews like this on the television before, and on most of them, after the rape, the rapist has said sorry, and apologized. So, why the change of attitude?

Heres my idea. Testosterone controlls the males sexual urges yes? So after the discharge of semen the testosterone levels in the drop and replenish. So maybe the testosterone created the sexual urge to rape in the first place?

Heres my solution. If testosterone creates these urges, cant we just remove it?

Thanks

Note: I'm not an expert in he Field of this and i don't know if this stuff has already been proven or whatever.
« Last Edit: 23/03/2008 09:02:57 by Karen W. »

another_someone

Re: The physcological side to rape, what do you think?
« Reply #1 on: 14/03/2008 20:53:40 »
I am not sure that to some extent that is not naturally happening, with the consequential feminisation of males (and quite possibly responsible for the suggested reduction in fertility of males).  I suspect the trade off is that despite the very high news value of rape, it is probably less common today than it was in past history (that is not to suggest that it is not still too common, only that in relative terms, I would not be surprised if 100 years ago its frequency was higher yet - on the other hand, the definition of rape has also changed over time, and things that today would be regarded as rape would not have been so 100 years ago - not least, at least in the UK, that a husband can be charged with raping his wife, which was not the case 100 years ago, although it is a law that even today is rarely invoked).