The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can drinking coffee prevent colds?  (Read 7258 times)

Offline MedK

• First timers
    • View Profile
Can drinking coffee prevent colds?
« on: 18/03/2008 16:44:01 »
Hi

I was wondering if anyone could explain this to me.  I use to get frequently get colds.  But ever since I started drinking coffee(about a year) I rarely catch any colds.  I use to suffer from colds every month.  I don't drink an excessive amount of coffee, max two cups a day.  I was wondering does my coffee drinking habit have anything to do with  increase tolerance against cold viruses?

Thanks

Mod edit - formatted the subject as a question.  Please try to do this to help keep the forum tidy and easy to navigate - thanks!
« Last Edit: 31/07/2008 11:33:37 by BenV »

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
« Reply #1 on: 07/08/2008 21:10:27 »
I hope this is true! Unfortunately, there does not seem to be any evidence at this time that coffee can prevent colds. Of course, I couldn't even find any research into this, so you never know! Chinese herbal medicine links coffee with lung health, and I did find an article saying that coffee can decrease the severity of cold symptoms, but nothing on it actually having an effect on the virus. Studies are finding that coffee is an excellent source of antioxidants, which can help in the prevention of heart disease and cancer, and may have an effect on your body's overall health and immune system.

Coffee has been hotly debated in the medical/nutrition arena for many years. But hey, if it works for you, keep doing it!

Offline MedK

• First timers
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 24/08/2008 13:25:26 »
hey thanks for replying!

I was wondering do you happen to know where you saw the article about how coffee can reduce the cold symptoms? It sounds very interesting and I just wanted to find more about this.

Thanks

Offline JnA

• Neilep Level Member