The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Why isn't gravity polar?  (Read 5705 times)

Offline Emetsipe

• First timers
    • View Profile
Why isn't gravity polar?
« on: 23/04/2008 02:06:40 »
I'm currently a student in physics and we're doing our advanced gravitation unit, and I'm wondering why gravity isn't polar?
most of the other forces i know (magnetism, electricity (charged particles attracting and repelling not necessarily current)) are polar, having two ends that repel and attract. but as far as i know gravity always attracts. why?

also, it talks about how space can be warped by gravity and it shows the parallel paths and everything but does that really mean space is skewed? just because two things at a certain velocity aimed past earth would eventually touch in the middle doesn't mean actual space is warped does it? i mean, just because there's a force there doesn't mean space is skewed. it means there's a force there. if we were all made of iron would we say that a magnetic field skews space?

see I'm in AP physics which is at the same period as the regular physics class, and the teacher pretty much teaches regular physics and lets us "AP folks" pretty much learn on our own so I'm looking for some answers...

another_someone

Why isn't gravity polar?
« Reply #1 on: 23/04/2008 03:03:58 »
Magnetism is merely a manifestation of charge, so cannot really be considered as separate forces.

On the other hand, neither the strong nor the weak force are polar, so one might say that the coulomb force is in fact the exception rather than the rule (although a very prevalent exception, it being the dominant force in everyday life).

Offline JP

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Why isn't gravity polar?
« Reply #2 on: 23/04/2008 04:22:30 »
General relativity does really mean that space-time is curved.  The idea of a gravitational "force" is described by the way things move around in a curved space-time.