The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Why water on Earth and not Venus?  (Read 20972 times)

Offline Exodus

• Phileas Fogg
  • Neilep Level Member
  • Geology
    • View Profile
Why water on Earth and not Venus?
« on: 05/05/2003 00:33:38 »
What do we have to thank for the presence of water on earth which has stopped our planet going the same way as venus? (believe it or not, but venus once had water...)

There are a number of answers i'm looking for and  i'll post them in a few days.
Good Luck.

Essentia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem...
« Last Edit: 07/07/2004 01:54:27 by Exodus »

Offline cuso4

• Angel Delight
    • View Profile
Re: Why water on Earth and not Venus?
« Reply #1 on: 05/05/2003 08:08:52 »
I'm not good at astronomy, but I'll try. The earth gets heat up by the Sun, and dosen't the water cools the surface temperature of the earth's crust to stop the temperature getting too high? hence stopping it becoming the second Venus.

Other thing is that the greenhouse effect stops the earth getting too cold and becoming the second Mars.

I think (only an opinion) that a long time ago, Venus was once like earth and that Mars will eventually becomes like earth after a very long time.

AG

Offline Exodus

• Phileas Fogg
  • Neilep Level Member
  • Geology
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 05/05/2003 11:02:39 »
This is more geological/biological rather than astronomical. You are kind of on the right track by bringing the sun into the answer, and the greenhouse effect is important to the answer too, well done. Water doesn't cool the earths crust as our crust is comparitively cool.

I'll give you a clue. You need to focus on the water in the air, the sun, and the greenhouse affect.

Have another go ;o)

Offline Quantumcat

• The Kitty Down Under
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 05/05/2003 14:45:45 »