The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Geological survey - what is it and how does it work?  (Read 8719 times)

Offline JQP

• First timers
    • View Profile
And how does one learn to do a GS?

(I read the Wikipedia stub and I'm looking for details)
« Last Edit: 10/08/2008 22:31:12 by JQP »

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
Geological survey - what is it and how does it work?
« Reply #1 on: 11/08/2008 17:45:32 »
Generally, a geological survey is simply studying a certain area of geography and trying to figure out what types of rock layers it contains. The first step in studying an area is simply walking it over and drawing a map of the exposed rock layers. You can extrapolate what is below the surface from the angles at which the different layers sit and in what order they are found. Often, remote sensing equipment is needed to verify what you can't see with the naked eye.

I learned how to do geologic mapping through my course studies in geology. You could try to learn to do it by reading books, but you need to be able to identify different types of rocks and understand things such as the principle of superposition, fault structures, etc. Joining a geoscience club or some similar group may give you opportunities to learn this process from others.

Here is a link explaining geologic maps: http://www.nature.nps.gov/geology/usgsnps/gmap/gmap1.html/

Offline JimBob

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 21/08/2008 14:43:55 »
OK - this is strange. The link above in my browser generates an error on the National Park Service site, BUT when I search "geologic maps" on Google I easily click through to the page being sought.

http://www.google.com/search?q=geologic+maps&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

If having trouble, here is a second link: a discussion of the subject on the USGS Site.