The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Wine alchol content - question  (Read 3610 times)

Offline DonBrown

• View Profile
Wine alchol content - question
« on: 12/08/2008 14:51:03 »
On holiday recently I bought a bottle of Italian wine. The label contained the item
"Alcole effetivo 7,5%vol - Alcole totale 10,5%vol"
I have always assumed that the only significant alcohol in wine is ethanol and that this is what "affects" me when I drink it.  Now I'm wondering what the other 3% is.
The wine was a little sweet, so I wonder if sugar is an alcohol? (I'm not an expert, but there do seem to be a few =c-oh and even ch2oh groups floating around in glucose & fructose.)
Any chemist or wine buff (or even, Italian wine buff chemist) who can clarify?

Offline Bored chemist

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 12/08/2008 19:08:45 »
Technically sugar is an alcohol- so's antifreeze, but it's an odd way to express the sugar content of a wine.
Also, an alcohol content of just 7.5 or 10.5% isn't very high so I wonder why the yeast stopped fermenting the stuff if there was still all that sugar left.
Usually wine ferments until the sugar runs out or the alcohol kills the yeast.
One psiiblilty that occurs to me is that one is the estimated alcohol based on the original sugar content of the grape juice (or based on the density) and the other is a true, measured, alcohol content.
I think this document
www.aiscanavese.it/.../cartella-amministrativa/la-normativa-dell-etichetta-vini-i-g-t/vini-ad-igt.pdf -
might shed some light on this but my knowledge of Italian is at about the level of "Ciao Bellissima". Can anyone help?
Drat; just tried that link and it doesn't work.

OK google "alcole totale" and look at the 6th result
« Last Edit: 12/08/2008 19:34:18 by Bored chemist »

Offline Make it Lady

• Neilep Level Member
  • Hands-on fun for everyone!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 12/08/2008 19:25:23 »