The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Undersea Nuclear Detonation  (Read 11755 times)

Offline eddirichard

• View Profile
Undersea Nuclear Detonation
« on: 14/01/2005 20:50:04 »
Could a nuclear bomb exploding under the ocean cause a tsunami?[:I]

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
Re: Undersea Nuclear Detonation
« Reply #1 on: 14/01/2005 21:10:08 »
I'm not an expert, but I reckon if it was detonated deep enough, then probably yes....but lets see if an ' underwater nuclear detonation ' expert can elucidate with more detail than I could hopelessly ever give you.

good question though.

'Men are the same as women...just inside out !'

Offline gsmollin

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 14/01/2005 21:51:35 »
All those tests were conducted by the nuclear powers years ago. Three tests come to mind, Able, Baker, and Charlie. Able was an airburst over a fleet of decommissioned ships. Baker was placed 90 feet under the water at Bikini atol's bay. Charlie was about a thousand feet depth (if I remember). Able did the usual. Baker was incredibly destructive, forcing up water and mud from the bottom of the bay about a thousand feet in the air, and then dropping it in the fleet. Most ships were crushed by Baker's wave. Charlie was not run for years, because Baker made such a mess.

However, we must remember the scale of this test. Baker's wave was confined to the bay at Bikini atol. The tsunami in question traveled the length and breadth of the Indian Ocean. The energy released by the 9.0 earthquake was equivalent to a million nuclear explosions.

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 15/01/2005 02:46:37 »
quote:
Originally posted by gsmollin