The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What is the fine structure constant?  (Read 4381 times)

Offline stevewillie

• View Profile
What is the fine structure constant?
« on: 08/09/2008 20:32:53 »
I know the Sommerfield fine structure constant is an important fundamental physical constant and its value is about 1/137. What exactly is it? It's straightforward to grasp the meaning of constants like the speed of light, the masses of protons, electrons, etc. But what is a dimensionless 1/137? There seems to be some mysticism associated with this number based on a Google search.
« Last Edit: 09/09/2008 00:22:36 by stevewillie »

Offline stevewillie

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 11/09/2008 19:16:55 »
This is supposed to be a physics forum. So why can't anyone tell me about the fine structure constant? Over sixty views, but no answers. 1/137th of what? a rhubarb pie?

« Last Edit: 11/09/2008 19:21:06 by stevewillie »

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
« Reply #2 on: 11/09/2008 19:44:22 »
Easy there, fella... ;)

The fine-structure constant is a unitless numerical constant - whose value is approximately equal to: 1/137. If fact the exact value of the fine-structure constant is: 0.007297351 +/- 0.000000006. Accepted symbol for the fine-structure constant is Greek alpha.

http://www.physlink.com/education/askexperts/ae33.cfm
« Last Edit: 11/09/2008 19:45:59 by Evie »

Offline stevewillie

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 12/09/2008 00:46:58 »
Evie,