The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What is the Bernoulli Principle?  (Read 3747 times)

Christopher Mitchell

What is the Bernoulli Principle?
« on: 14/09/2008 10:59:59 »
Christopher Mitchell  asked the Naked Scientists:

My name is Chris and I frequently listen to your podcasts from the States. I'm currently studying to be a high school science teacher and had a question about Bernoulli's principle.  

We use it to explain why an aeroplane gets lift and why your shower curtain seems to suck in on your while showering. My professor stated that we don't actually know "how" an aeroplane gets lift using this principle, my question is why do we not know and what exactly do we know about it?  Thank you

Chris Mitchell

What do you think?

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 14/09/2008 11:57:07 »
As far as I'm aware, we do indeed know why an aeroplane wing gives lift. It's to do with pressure differential. Or are you inferring that there is something more fundamental involved?

lyner

« Reply #2 on: 14/09/2008 13:41:10 »
The Bernouli effect is not actually needed for a plane to get lift. Many wings have an aerofoil shape of cross section. This is a sort of stretched, curved tear drop. The distance across the top surface is greater than the distance across the bottom surface. As the wing goes through the air, the air which is deflected to the top surface has to go further than the air on the bottom surface in order that the two air streams come together at the trailing edge. This means that it has to go a bit faster. The Bernouli effect / principle tells us that the pressure drops as a fluid increases in speed so the pressure on top of the wing is a bit less than the pressure underneath - giving you lift.