The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: cyclic redundency error! whats that all about?  (Read 5225 times)

paul.fr

cyclic redundency error! whats that all about?
« on: 15/09/2008 01:06:44 »
Im in the middle of transfering the data stored on 200ish dvd's on to an external hard drive, and every now and then i get a cyclic redundency error. What is this, and can it be avouded?

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
« Reply #1 on: 15/09/2008 17:56:44 »
I don't do any copying/burning myself, but found this forum which may be helpful...

http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/124000

Offline techmind

• Un-obfuscated
    • View Profile
    • techmind.org
« Reply #2 on: 15/09/2008 19:49:15 »
Im in the middle of transfering the data stored on 200ish dvd's on to an external hard drive, and every now and then i get a cyclic redundency error. What is this, and can it be avouded?

A cyclical redundancy check (CRC) is a particular type of checksum. On each "block" of data (typically 256 or 512 bytes) a computer is storing or sending it does a calculation on the data, and stores the answer along with the data. When is reads back or receives data, it re-does the calculation and makes sure it still gets the same answer. This is a good indication that the data was read/received correctly.

When the sums don't add up on reading data, you get a CRC error. It probably means that one or more bits are corrupt.