The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: bleeding for weeks  (Read 3459 times)

Offline suzy

• View Profile
bleeding for weeks
« on: 30/01/2005 11:42:32 »
My sister had a miscarrage in the mid December.  She has now been bleeding on and off since.  The blood loss can be large clots.  She was taken to accident and emergency last week.  After an examination the doctor said, there was no infection and he said quite honestly that he did not know what was causinf this.  She had a scan the following morning that showed nothing.  They gave her some tablets to stop the bleeding, however it continues.  She is planning to go back to her GP tomorrow.  What are your thoughts on this

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
Re: bleeding for weeks
« Reply #1 on: 30/01/2005 17:17:22 »
Suzy, so sorry to hear of your sisters miscarriage. I'm not an expert but I understand your sisters body has undergone a trauma and this might upset the bodys equilibriam but...well...I'm just speculating here....best to wait and see what the medical people say....if this any consolation when my wife had our third child, she continued to bleed for 2 months !!...it might be related...one thing for sure....do not worry (easy to say isn't it ?)....how far gone was she ?

I wish you and your sister well.

'Men are the same as women...just inside out !'

Kittycat

« Reply #2 on: 31/01/2005 01:08:56 »
Hi Suzy,

I too am sorry to hear of your sister losing her baby. This is traumatic in every way. My thinking is that her body is experiencing trauma and trying to deal with the pregnancy issues. Her body is in shock from not having a normal pregnancy experience and also dealing with the hormonal disruption.