The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How do binary star systems form?  (Read 5696 times)

Online chris

• Neilep Level Member
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How do binary star systems form?
« on: 18/09/2008 18:02:31 »
An interesting fact is that about 50% of the stars in the night sky are binary systems comprising two stars twirling around each other.

But how did this configuration arise in the first place, given our current model of star and planetary formation?

Chris

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
« Reply #1 on: 18/09/2008 18:51:14 »
This is a debated topic. There are basically four different ideas:

1)One star captures another

2)Fission - one star splits into two.

*3)Star forming cloud splits into two (or more) parts, each forming a star.

4)A proto-star with a disk is formed, disk breaks up and forms another star.

Number three is considered the most feasible, but there is new research coming out all the time that tries to support any one of the four ideas.

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 18/09/2008 19:29:36 »
Some galaxies form bars.
If an accretion disc could do the same, (on a smaller scale), the concentration of matter in the bar could form two satellite stars.
These satellites could eventually coalesce, as they have similar orbits, producing a binary system.

[Isn't this a question about symmetry breaking ?]

Offline LeeE

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
« Reply #3 on: 19/09/2008 17:18:25 »
AFAIK, multiple star systems are not limited to binaries and can have three, four or more stars in a single system.  A lot will depend upon the distances between the individual stars though - close binaries may well have formed by capture but distantly separated multiple star systems are more likely to have formed from individual gas clouds that were already gravitationally bound.