The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: An unbalanced tongue  (Read 4034 times)

Offline euthopianking

• First timers
    • View Profile
An unbalanced tongue
« on: 19/09/2008 20:18:03 »
Hello everyone. I want to gather as much information as possible. I have had a problem with my tongue, and yet I have not been able to convince the doctors with what it is to help me.

When I was very young, I started playing with my tongue by grinding my teeth against one side of my tongue (I did this without being aware of it). I started doing this around the age of 13. It became a habit that stayed with me for another 5 years, until I turned 18. At that age, one side of my face had grown much bigger than the other side. Also the smaller side had more acne. However, I did not notice the reason why I had an deformed face until when I was 19, one day, I stuck my tongue out in front of the mirror and saw that my tongue looked like a curve. No matter how much I tried centralizing my tongue, it had a curve on the left side(the bigger side).

A thought came into my mind; my tongue is unbalanced, and it is relevant to my face. As I remembered my childhood, how I used to grind one side of my tongue, I realized why it has turned this way. Since I had no medical insurance, and could not go to the doctor to explain all of this, I started healing myself. I did the grinding on the opposite side. Which is far more complicated than just simply grinding one side, there is actually a hole that I started poking with a toothpick and grinding with my teeth that traveled from one side to another in a very very VERY slow speed. I'd say about an inch ever 2 months of grinding and poking everyday. Don't even mention the pain, although I'm used to it(How do muscles are grown? when they are torn apart, and once they rest, they start to reproduce. and tongue is a muscle).