The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How do they get the blue bits in cheese?  (Read 5539 times)

blakestyger

How do they get the blue bits in cheese?
« on: 20/09/2008 14:22:49 »
I was reading recently a book by J-H Fabre (The 'father of entomology') from 1919 which discusses domestic animals and their products.
Roquefort cheese makers, he says, would put mouldy breadcrumbs into the mix which introduces the fungi/moulds that give it the blue veins. Does anybody know if this method persists or, if not, what they do now? 

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
« Reply #1 on: 20/09/2008 15:50:00 »
From Wikipedia:

"Blue (or bleu) cheese is cow's milk, sheep's milk, or goat's milk cheeses that has had Penicillium cultures added so that the final product is spotted or veined throughout with blue or blue-gray or blue-green mold.

Roquefort, Gorgonzola, and Stilton are, like wine, a protected designation of origin, meaning they can bear the name only if they have been made in a particular region in a certain country."

Roquefort was indeed made with moldy breadcrumbs, but now the mold is generally produced in a lab and injected.

Offline rosalind dna

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 20/09/2008 18:34:45 »
It is bacteria that is injected into blue cheeses such as
Roquefort also Stilton, Danish Blue etc.

Some years ago I saw a program about this skill.

blakestyger

« Reply #3 on: 20/09/2008 19:14:26 »
Thank you Evie, rosalind dna - that's interesting. I would like to have been able to taste those cheeses of 100 years ago that Fabre talks about, and compare them - I expect they would be quite different from their modern counterparts.

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 20/09/2008 21:44:50 »

YUM!

Offline Make it Lady

• Neilep Level Member
  • Hands-on fun for everyone!