The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: In quantum entanglement, how are things linked together?  (Read 15058 times)

Will

Will asked the Naked Scientists:

In Quantum Entanglement, exactly how are the objects linked together? What force or energy connects them? How do they "communicate?"

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 17/06/2015 07:55:48 by chris »

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
What is quantum entanglement?
« Reply #1 on: 24/09/2008 17:30:52 »
This topic makes my brain spin....both up and down.... :D

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 25/09/2008 09:37:36 »
I don't think anyone actually knows the answer. It just happens, as do many things in quantum mechanics.

Offline JP

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 25/09/2008 22:41:58 »
Classical physics says that when two objects are connected, they are connected by forces/energies/particles.  All of these classical connections are easy to think of because we see examples of them every day.

Quantum mechanics introduced an entirely new way to connect two objects: entanglement.  Entanglement is tough to explain because it doesn't depend on any classical ways of connecting things.  It's also not something intuitive, like forces, since we aren't used to seeing its effects.

Offline DoctorBeaver

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 25/09/2008 22:46:03 »

Quantum mechanics introduced an entirely new way to connect two objects: entanglement.  Entanglement is tough to explain because it doesn't depend on any classical ways of connecting things.  It's also not something intuitive, like forces, since we aren't used to seeing its effects.

In other words no-one can explain it  :P

Offline JP

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 25/09/2008 22:53:39 »
One the one hand, yeah.  It just is that way.  :)