The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How does warfarin work?  (Read 32610 times)

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
How does warfarin work?
« on: 30/09/2008 22:08:09 »
Right, so I've got idiots clots on my lungs and I've been put on warfarin to thin my blood. But how does it do that?  ???

Offline Evie

• "Back off man...I'm a Scientist."
    • View Profile
    • My Website
How does warfarin work?
« Reply #1 on: 30/09/2008 22:30:34 »
It prevents your blood from clotting.

Here's a Wiki article that goes into much more detail. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blood_coagulation

The coagulation cascade of secondary hemostasis has two pathways, the contact activation pathway (formerly known as the intrinsic pathway) and the tissue factor pathway (formerly known as the extrinsic pathway) that lead to fibrin formation. It was previously thought that the coagulation cascade consisted of two pathways of equal importance joined to a common pathway. It is now known that the primary pathway for the initiation of blood coagulation is the tissue factor pathway. The pathways are a series of reactions, in which a zymogen (inactive enzyme precursor) of a serine protease and its glycoprotein co-factor are activated to become active components that then catalyze the next reaction in the cascade, ultimately resulting in cross-linked fibrin. Coagulation factors are generally indicated by Roman numerals, with a lowercase a appended to indicate an active form.

The coagulation factors are generally serine proteases (enzymes). There are some exceptions. For example, FVIII and FV are glycoproteins and Factor XIII is a transglutaminase. Serine proteases act by cleaving other proteins at specific sites. The coagulation factors circulate as inactive zymogens.