The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Particle Accelerators....put my mind at ease !!  (Read 3737 times)

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
Particle Accelerators....put my mind at ease !!
« on: 09/02/2005 09:05:58 »
Hello,

I'm a naive layman called Neil.

Please put my mind at ease that with all these Particle Accelerators around the planet that we're not going to make another ' big bang'.

I know there's a giant round one being built and I was wondering in my happy lost innocence that with all these particles colliding with each other, is there no chance of it going ' wooooosh , lets create another universe bang'.....

well, obviously not eh ?....which is why these experiments happen all the time, but, from a certain point of view ( a lack of knowledge one )can you see how someone like me might think of a silly question like this ?

Ta

Neil (I'm off to work to deal with stuff that I DO know about)

'Men are the same as women...just inside out !'

Offline Ultima

• View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: Particle Accelerators....put my mind at ease !!
« Reply #1 on: 09/02/2005 12:18:50 »
There is the large Hadron Collider being built in CERN which is kinda of beastie
http://lhc-new-homepage.web.cern.ch/lhc-new-homepage/
I thought that the physicists worried about scary stuff happening also before they built the first colliderís, since they werenít utterly sure what would happen, i.e. the reason for building them :D? Heh that would be kind of cool if we started spawning universes, I think religion might have some big problems with it though.

wOw the world spins?

Offline gsmollin

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 09/02/2005 16:06:18 »
Would we know? It would be another universe. Actually, cosmological accelerators, like black holes, are far more powerful than laboratory accelerators, and we haven't observed any new universes popping out, if you don't count the black hole itself as another universe.