The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How to map windows network drives?  (Read 19359 times)

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« on: 25/10/2008 11:28:22 »
I have a remote backup server (terastation) which I can also map as a network drive. The problem is automatically re-establishing the network mapping at start-up.

When choosing "map network drive" from My Computer, and then ticking the little "reconnect at start up" button, whenever it tries to connect windows adds the computer name to the front of the login name, thus buggering the process. Consequently you need to manually key the entry, thus rendering the auto-reconnect process pointless.

The only other solution is to disable all security and then anyone can read or worse still delete the drive content.

Do anyone know how to overcome this aggravating windows habit? (apart from switching OS obviously...)

Chris


 

Offline erickejah

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • Parking? I make my own parking spot!!
    • View Profile
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #1 on: 31/10/2008 01:41:41 »
I would install Team Viewer www.teamviewer.comand set it up to start with windows, then put a new password and use it as a virtual private network (VPN) :)
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #2 on: 02/11/2008 22:51:57 »
Unfortunately teamviewer needs to be running on both platforms; the Terastation cannot accommodate it.

Chris
 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #3 on: 03/11/2008 00:02:59 »
Which Windows OS are you using?  Is it a home version of XP or Vista?
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #4 on: 03/11/2008 17:55:56 »
It's windows XP SP3. I also have another machine using XP sp2 (yet to be upgraded).

It's a total pain the rear this. You'd like to be able to specify a logon username and password for network re-connects at logon. Instead you get annoying control freakery that insists on adding other information upstream of the user name.

There must be a batch script that could be run at startup to establish network connections, surely?

Chris
 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #5 on: 04/11/2008 15:35:12 »
Is it XP Home or XP Pro?

When your PC adds the computer name to the login name, how does it format it?  does it, for example, do it like computer_name.login_name or does just run them together like computer_namelogin_name ?

It sounds a bit like your PC and the NAS think they're in different domains.

Have you tried looking at the support forums for your NAS?
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #6 on: 06/11/2008 04:13:51 »
Nah, they're definitely set to be members of the same "workgroup", which is the config you can choose. I think it sets the login script as per your first example.

chris
 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #7 on: 06/11/2008 11:06:26 »
The 'workgroup' might be the problem.  In a workgroup there's no central/unified security scheme - you could have several different PCs in a workgroup, set up with the same user IDs, but with different passwords for the same user ID on each PC.  In a 'domain' scheme there is just one instance of each user ID, which is common to all PCs in the domain, which use the same security database.

This is why I was asking if you were using home or pro versions - I don't think that 'home' versions use the domain scheme (which would be too complicated for average home users to set up correctly and maintain).
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #8 on: 07/11/2008 19:52:21 »
I can configure it to use domains, but I know next to nothing about this.

Chris
 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #9 on: 07/11/2008 21:49:22 »
What happens if you try to auto-connect to a share on another PC - do you get the same problem?
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #10 on: 12/11/2008 00:14:36 »
Yes - I do share that server amongst my home machines because it acts as a backup / shared network drive; XP does the same nuisance stunt on them all.

 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #11 on: 12/11/2008 17:11:32 »
Sorry, perhaps I should have been clearer, but do you get the same behaviour if you try to auto-connect shares between one PC and another PC?  Not between all the different PCs and the server, although the fact that they all show the same behaviour indicates that the problem lies with the server and not the PCs.  If you can auto-connect between the PCs ok, where the server isn't involved at all, it would really point towards the problem being with the server.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #12 on: 15/11/2008 01:03:55 »
It took me all of 10 minutes to set my network up with 4 PCs all talking to each other and a stand-alone network storage drive. Oh, you're using Windows, aren't you.
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #13 on: 15/11/2008 10:06:18 »
Hmm. Windows. Can't live without it, can't live with it. Oh well.

c
 

Offline nicephotog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • H h H h H h H h H h
    • View Profile
    • Freeware Downloads
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #14 on: 23/11/2008 09:09:41 »
After you've clicked "map network drive" does the dialog have:
"Reconnect at Logon" followed by
"CONNECT USING A DIFFERENT USERNAME" as a "blue coloured link" in small writing.
That last is what you should click to replace the "username".
 

Offline chris

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5339
  • Thanked: 65 times
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #15 on: 23/11/2008 21:51:50 »
Yes, that's right; but unfortunately the name of the computer ends up being inserted ahead of the user login name in the login script e.g. if the computer was called "NS-machine" and the username was "fred", XP tries to logon as "NS-machine/fred" rather than just "fred".

Chris
 

Offline nicephotog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • H h H h H h H h H h
    • View Profile
    • Freeware Downloads
How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #16 on: 24/11/2008 09:06:48 »
But is that a startup script in WSH such as windows script host .js or .vbs or from the Wizard on the window menu?
Note, NetBIOS as i remember is a networking protocol as differing an authentication scheme/protocol

Also, try deleting all that for "Map Network Drive" and re-entering it.

Take a look below-------------------

Control Panel -to- Sytem Properties


Computer Name

===Change Button=== -to-


Computer Name:

Workgroup:


Then--------------------------------

Primary DNS suffix of this computer:

NetBIOS computer name:
 

The Naked Scientists Forum

How to map windows network drives?
« Reply #16 on: 24/11/2008 09:06:48 »

 

SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums
 
Login
Login with username, password and session length