The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Glass isn't a supercooled liquid  (Read 13631 times)

Kevin Davey

Glass isn't a supercooled liquid
« on: 31/10/2008 23:13:33 »
Kevin Davey  asked the Naked Scientists:

Hi Chris,

I just listened to the podcast of the 12th Oct 2008 show and heard your footnote to the the answer given by Dave regarding magnifying glasses losing power.  In this you said that glass is a supercooled fluid and flows over time.

I am currently studying for a Master of Science in Astronomy and the question of glass lenses changing shape came up in a group discussion board.  Research I did suggests that glass is not a supercooled liquid and does not flow over time.  My response to the discussion was:

It seems to be incorrect to refer to glass a supercooled liquid, instead it is an amorphous solid [1] - it does not contain crystals.

Some conclusions have been wrongly drawn from old window panes being thicker at the bottom than at the top.  This is not due to glass flowing over time, but because that is the way the glass, which could not be made with uniform thickness, was installed [2].  Placing the thicker and therefore heavier end down would make the glass panels more stable in their fittings.

The lens of the 40" Yerkes refractor has the largest telescope lens as larger ones would deform due to their weight.  This deformation is bending and flexing, it is not due to fluid flow.  Glass rods can be twisted and bent and will resume their original shapes when the deforming forces are stopped - assuming the glass has not broken first, of course!

Correcting for this bending deformation in large reflecting telescopes is the key component of active optics, but is impossible for lenses.