The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: growing crystals - gravity?  (Read 5150 times)

Offline anders

• First timers
    • View Profile
growing crystals - gravity?
« on: 24/02/2005 20:44:11 »
Hi, I am growing a crystal KAl(SO4)2 * 12H2O, and I'm very fascinated by the beauty of the crystals I'm getting. I'm using a seed crystal in a solution, and I was wondering why I seem to only get crystals (3 so far) perfectly oriented with the pointy end of the octaheder pointing straight down, and the other end pointing straight up. It's like they're perfectly aligned with the force of gravity.

I was wondering if gravity affects how the crystal grows, or are my (3) results just a coincidence?

(I'm only a first year student in chemistry. I'm sorry if it seems like a stupid question)

anders

Offline anthony

• View Profile
Re: growing crystals - gravity?
« Reply #1 on: 21/05/2005 14:15:02 »
I'm assuming these crystals are free floating somehow, if they can be growing up and down simultaneously. You're answer is yes, they are aligning with gravity, but their growth is not determined by gravity. Given good conditions most crystals will form with a variety of shapes and symetries determined by their crystaline "unit cell". Growth on some faces of the crystal is faster than others, hence the long shape of the crystal. Which face has fastest growth is determined by the atomic structure on the surface. Some scientists, growing nanoparticle crystals, use detergents to make crystalisation faster on some faces than others and select the shape of crystal they want to form.

Offline bigtim

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 22/09/2006 21:34:09 »
quote:
Originally posted by anders

... aligned with the force of gravity...

This is a common missconception. Gravity is not a force. The force is the product of mass and the strength of the gravitational filed, ie, the quotient of the ratio force/mass.

Big Tim

Offline Mr Andrew