The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?  (Read 9451 times)

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« on: 13/11/2008 10:49:49 »
Yes. Here's how.

First, you need the Firefox browser. If you're not a pointy-headed IT geek, don't worry; it's a doddle to install. Windows users visit http://www.mozilla-europe.org/en/firefox/ and you'll see a big green DOWNLOAD button in the middle of the page. Run the file that downloads and hey presto, it's done. For those of you running Linux, Firefox comes bundled with most distros so you'll probably already have it.

OK, when you've down that, close Internet Explorer, consign it to the rubbish tip where it belongs and open Firefox. In the address bar type "speed dial" without the quotes and you'll be taken to the appropriate page. You'll see another big green button in the middle that says "Add to Firefox". Click it and the Speed Dial add-on will be added.

You will need to re-start Firefox at this point, but it will say that on the screen anyway. You may need to go into Edit->Preferences to set your homepage to Speed Dial but I think you get that option when you add it. Sorry, but I wasn't taking much notice at that point  :D

Now comes the clever part. You will see 9 rectangles. Each of these is a panel that will point to a website of your choice. The screenshot below is how I had mine set up before I installed the latest version which allows you to open multiple sites with 1 click.



You will see that I had, for instance, TNS & Google on my page.

At this point, your panels will be blank. Click on any panel and a box opens up asking for the URL. Type the URL for the site in the box. To open multiple sites with 1 click, enter all the URLs separated by a | character. Just below that is a checkbox for the image you wish to display in the panel. If you want it to show the page you are pointing the panel to, enter the same URL. You now have your first Speed Dial panel set up.

I belong to several forums and I now open all of them with 1 click. That saves quite a bit of time.

It's not as complicated as it may sound here. Just go through the steps and you'll see how easy it is.

To change the URL in any panel, position your cursor in the top right of the panel and you will see 2 icons. The icon in the very corner is the Edit icon.

I hope this may be of use to some of you.
« Last Edit: 13/11/2008 11:01:13 by DoctorBeaver »


 

Offline dentstudent

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3146
  • FOGger to the unsuspecting
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #1 on: 13/11/2008 11:33:22 »
Eth - just done it! Looks great, so thanks.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #2 on: 13/11/2008 12:45:17 »
You're welcome.

And was it difficult?
 

Offline dentstudent

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3146
  • FOGger to the unsuspecting
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #3 on: 13/11/2008 12:53:00 »
I had to drag the speed dial icon onto the toolbar to trigger the multi-frame window, but once I'd put that in, everything else was clear. It didn't make it that obvious when I installed it though.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #4 on: 13/11/2008 15:29:33 »
I never had to do that. What OS are you running?
 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #5 on: 14/11/2008 01:34:16 »
Hmm...  I've used the 'Galeon' web browser - a Mozilla based Gnome browser for a long time now (linux) and if I open a 'folder' of bookmarks then they'll all be opened, in individual tabs or windows, depending on your preference.  It used to be a bit of a nuisance if you did it accidentally, but now it asks if I really want to open all the bookmarks in that folder.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #6 on: 14/11/2008 01:59:10 »
LeeE - I've not used Galeon. What advantages, if any, does it have over FF?
 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #7 on: 14/11/2008 02:29:53 »
Probably none at all now.  I preferred it to the others I tried a long time ago and it's Gnome (GTK) interface fitted well with my preference of using Gnome, but there hasn't been anything really new in it for a long time.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #8 on: 14/11/2008 02:33:36 »
Do you use Compiz?
 

Offline LeeE

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3382
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #9 on: 14/11/2008 02:59:15 »
Nope.  It looks like it could be 'fun' to use but it all uses resources I'd rather devote to my apps.  All my systems are pretty old now - the newest is over six years old and while it would be able to run Compiz, the resource overhead would be significant.  This situation isn't likely to change either, until I can get a job.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #10 on: 14/11/2008 03:39:21 »
Fair enough. My favourite PC is 4 years old now - my 2.8GHz Sony Vaio. I've upped the RAM to 2Gb and it still really flies, especially now I've got Ubuntu on it. It leaves Sandra's almost-new 2.4GHz Compaq Presario for dead in every way.
« Last Edit: 14/11/2008 03:41:29 by DoctorBeaver »
 

Offline Don_1

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6890
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • A stupid comment for every occasion.
    • View Profile
    • Knight Light Haulage
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #11 on: 14/11/2008 08:04:47 »
With all your beavering about, I suppose multiple sites on your screen are useful, as for me, I find one at a time is usually more than sufficient.
 

Offline nicephotog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • H h H h H h H h H h
    • View Profile
    • Freeware Downloads
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #12 on: 23/11/2008 11:41:05 »
That comes down to "ethics", ... its about "javascript/DHTML"(SAME BREATH), the link system of window.open(number+"theurl.html","_new"); is only allowed a number of times in a browser by law because it is a non-consenting popup!
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #13 on: 23/11/2008 13:41:03 »
That comes down to "ethics", ... its about "javascript/DHTML"(SAME BREATH), the link system of window.open(number+"theurl.html","_new"); is only allowed a number of times in a browser by law because it is a non-consenting popup!

I don't see that this comes into it. If I enter multiple URLs to be opened (it matters not a jot how many) then none of them are non-consenting pop-ups. The law does not tell me how many windows or tabs I can have open at any given time.
« Last Edit: 23/11/2008 13:43:23 by DoctorBeaver »
 

Offline nicephotog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • H h H h H h H h H h
    • View Profile
    • Freeware Downloads
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #14 on: 24/11/2008 06:04:47 »
...Yes. Here's how....
Sorry , i didn't read the top post, i've overshot that somehow.
Nice, is that built with Mozilla "XUL"?
and have you ever used SeaMonkey browser? , another Mozilla alternative.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #15 on: 24/11/2008 09:12:53 »
I don't know anything about it except that it's a stndard add-on.
 

Offline nicephotog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 387
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • H h H h H h H h H h
    • View Profile
    • Freeware Downloads
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #16 on: 24/11/2008 10:03:01 »
Many add-ons are made in Mozillas' XUL (extensible User Interface Language) such as Fire FTP. -also .xbl .rdf .jar-
see www.xulplanet.com and www.Mozzila.org

I was referring to window-frame popups of URL's when i said that. That is a legal technicality of no more than 4 max.
Thats a different story up there alike auto net logon services.
 

Offline DoctorBeaver

  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 12656
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #17 on: 25/11/2008 18:35:51 »
It's a .xpi file if that means anything to you.
 

The Naked Scientists Forum

Can I open multiple internet sites with 1 click?
« Reply #17 on: 25/11/2008 18:35:51 »

 

SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums