The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Is there a gravity anti-particle?  (Read 6586 times)

Alex Havers

Is there a gravity anti-particle?
« on: 22/11/2008 18:16:26 »
Alex Havers asked the Naked Scientists:

Hi, I'm a science teacher from beautiful Vancouver. My class always
listens
, and always comes up with tricky questions...

Here's one: is the force of gravity made up of some kind of particle?  If so, can these particles be interfered with or cancelled out, to make upside-down gravity or zero gravity?  

Thanks!

What do you think?

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 23/11/2008 13:39:20 »
Some theories postulate the graviton; a particle that mediates the force of gravity. Like the photon, this would be its own anti-particle (in fact I think I am correct in saying that no force-carrying bosons are thought to have anti-particles).

lyner

« Reply #2 on: 23/11/2008 15:47:22 »
Just remember that we're not necessarily looking for a 'spatially small bullet'. That could be a very potentially confusing picture of a graviton - or any other energy carrying 'particle', for that matter.

Offline lightarrow

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 23/11/2008 21:04:45 »
About anti gravity, there is something very strange we could say, but it's not current science, is something at the border between science and speculation. If you want to have a headache I can talk about it a little. (I don't advise it to you, however).

Offline Physics Dilettante

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 25/11/2008 15:00:52 »
(I don't advise it to you, however).
You had me at "very strange," but this resolved any doubt. Please continue!

Offline lightarrow

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: 25/11/2008 20:20:17 »
(I don't advise it to you, however).
You had me at "very strange," but this resolved any doubt. Please continue!