The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Should I be worried about my testicles overheating?  (Read 16796 times)

Offline Madidus_Scientia

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
I work in a galvanizing plant, and I work up on the "kettle", which is basically a huge tub of molten zinc, at 450 celsius. For those who don't know galvanizing is the process of dipping steel into zinc to coat it so it doesn't rust. Anyway, before and during raising it back up out of the zinc we have a person on each side of it sweeping the layer of ash that forms on the surface away from the job, so it doesn't stick to it and ruin the coating (my job). Depending on how tricky the job we're working on is we can be there for around 20 minutes or maybe even more, and when we finish one job we're straight onto the other one so we only really get a few minutes rest from the heat at a time. I've been doing this for about 4 or 5 months now and its always been hot but bearable, I'm not usually one to whinge. But now that it's summer it is very, very hot up there. Before long my clothes are completely soaked with sweat, once my phone stopped working for a while because I had it in my pocket and it was wet at the end of the day. My socks get soaked within a few hours from sweat running off my body down my legs. In my corner of the world it can often be 30 degrees celsius or more during the day, and it rains alot (I was actually flooded in the other morning, check this out! http://img122.imageshack.us/my.php?image=image043rb3.jpg lucky i parked on the grass not the street!) so its very humid. Actually as I write this google tells me its 27 degrees and 89% humidity, and this is at 10:30pm.

So i've been looking up health and safety laws about this and I came across this:

"Reproductive Disorders: Both male and female workers who are exposed to radiant heat, or
required to work in extreme temperatures for long periods may suffer reproductive disorders,