The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What is the advantage of silver spark plugs?  (Read 7570 times)

James Lewis Hartland

What is the advantage of silver spark plugs?
« on: 12/02/2009 13:30:01 »
James Lewis Hartland asked the Naked Scientists:
   I am a retired Mechanical Engineer that's always had an interest in all
things, especially engineering. As someone who has always done his own repairs and servicing, I have used Platinum Spark Plugs in my cars for many years. However, spark plugs using other materials for the firing electrodes are now being promoted ie Iridium/Silver electrodes etc which seem to cost considerably more money.

Are there any performance advantages in purchasing these alternative
products and if so what are the advantages they provide?

Thank you,
James Hartland.
What do you think?

lyner

« Reply #1 on: 12/02/2009 23:25:20 »
Silver is an excellent thermal conductor. A silver pin with a non reactive plating could be just what you need.

Offline LeeE

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
« Reply #2 on: 13/02/2009 00:06:51 »
I believe that the greatest advantage from exotic spark plugs is increased profits for the manufacturer.  If you were to really believe manufacturer's claims for their newest products (and I don't just mean spark plugs) you'd end up thinking that the old products never could have worked in the first place.

Offline graham.d

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 13/02/2009 12:24:18 »
I tend to agree with Lee. There are theoretical advantages but whether these are significant in any practical sense is open to debate. There are papers on the web which examine relative performance, but none I could find that were free.

A good website is:

http://www.periodictable.com/Elements/SparkPlugsGroup/index.html

Offline lightarrow

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 13/02/2009 12:55:11 »