The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?  (Read 7173 times)

Offline neilep

  • Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 20602
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« on: 13/02/2009 12:06:19 »
This is the deal.

Where can I get a decent Tv splitter ? I need to connect two tv's to receive just a bog standard analogue signal. One in the lounge where the feed comes in and the other in the kitchen where some bloke years ago drilled holes in the hole and added  another aerial lead from the lounge to there.

Would a regular 'Y' splitter do the job or do I need a splitter/amp thing ?


 

paul.fr

  • Guest
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #1 on: 13/02/2009 12:13:39 »
Sorry to go off topic so early, but

and the other in the kitchen where some bloke years ago drilled holes in the hole

How did he do that then!  [:X]
 

Offline dentstudent

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3146
  • FOGger to the unsuspecting
    • View Profile
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #2 on: 13/02/2009 12:19:03 »
Sorry to go off topic so early, but


Paul, you clearly have an STB.
 

Offline neilep

  • Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 20602
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #3 on: 13/02/2009 12:24:13 »
Sorry to go off topic so early, but

and the other in the kitchen where some bloke years ago drilled holes in the hole

How did he do that then!  [:X]

It was a SKY guy, he drilled through from the lounge to the hall then from the hall into the kitchen...he then skewered a lead through it and voila...another lead.

 

Offline neilep

  • Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • *******
  • Posts: 20602
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #4 on: 13/02/2009 12:33:28 »
Ok...Time is short so I just ordered this.

It's gotta be worth a punt considering the price and it seems to have been reviewed quite well.

I was debating about buying just an indoor Aeriel for the kitchen TV but I have yet to ever see one that is actually any good !

« Last Edit: 13/02/2009 12:36:16 by neilep »
 

Offline Don_1

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6890
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • A stupid comment for every occasion.
    • View Profile
    • Knight Light Haulage
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #5 on: 14/02/2009 16:51:31 »
I have used a simple 'Y' splitter with no detrimental effect to picture quality. I tried a signal booster to try to improve what was already a good picture, and it proved worthless. In fact the picture quality was reduced!!!!
 

Offline techmind

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • Un-obfuscated
    • View Profile
    • techmind.org
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #6 on: 14/02/2009 20:28:06 »
What you need all depends on how much signal you've got to start with.

Really lousy splitters (e.g. simple two-port sockets) will lose lots of signal and/or caused echos in the cable (shadows/ghosting on the analog TV picture).

A good passive splitter will send half* the signal each way, so each signal will be half as strong as you had to start with. It will also isolate those two "outputs" from each other. If you've got lots of signal to start with (reasonable line-of-sight to the transmitter, a rooftop aerial, downlead not too long, and in good condition and any joints made properly) then this 50% (3dB) loss will be inconsequential.

* in practice there's always some additional losses, eg 4.5dB down each path.

Example of reasonable passive splitter is JM13 from Maplin, priced at 4.99
(I bought one many years ago, and I think it was this part).


If your signal is marginal to start with, eg there's some detectable level of noise ("snow") on the picture then an amplifier (or amplifier/splitter) is your best best.
Ideally the amplifier should go closer to the aerial if practical (because the signal weakens along the length of the cable).


Bear in mind that TV aerial cables often degrade over the years as water gets in (if the aerial is rooftop/exposed) or as rodents chew through it!
 

Offline syhprum

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3821
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #7 on: 27/02/2009 17:20:27 »
Fitting aerial amplifiers will often degrade the quality of reception by introducing cross modulation between channels (you will see one picture floating about behind another)they should be a last resort and not used to try and make up for a poor aerial installation
 

The Naked Scientists Forum

TV Aerial Splitter/amp required ?
« Reply #7 on: 27/02/2009 17:20:27 »

 

SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums