The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Sleep paralysis research  (Read 81609 times)

Offline julia2406

• First timers
    • View Profile
    • http://homepages.gold.ac.uk/sleep/
Sleep paralysis research
« on: 06/05/2005 14:44:24 »
Hello,

I'm a PhD student in the Department of Psychology at Goldsmiths College, University of London. I'm researching various aspects of a commonly experienced sleep disorder called sleep paralysis. This is the feeling of not being able to move either as you are going to sleep or as you are waking up. It might feel as though you cannot move your arms or legs and cannot speak or cry out.

I am developing a new questionnaire to investigate sleep paralysis experiences and I need to analyse responses to an existing questionnaire before I start. I have this brief questionnaire on my webpages and I need people who have had sleep paralysis once or more to complete it.

It will take just a couple of minutes, it is anonymous and has been given full ethical approval by the departmental ethics committee. So, if you've had sleep paralysis once or more then please visit < newbielink:http://homepages.gold.ac.uk/sleep/nei.php [nonactive] >.

If you fill in the questionnaire you are given the option of opting in to have the results of the study emailed to you (this will be in a few months). If anyone is interested I can post the results on this forum as well.

Thank you very much, Julia
« Last Edit: 24/09/2006 11:57:15 by another_someone »

Offline DoctorBeaver

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • A stitch in time would have confused Einstein.
    • View Profile
Re: Sleep paralysis research
« Reply #1 on: 15/05/2005 22:10:02 »
Done. Good luck with your PhD. Mine is also in Psychology

Offline OldMan

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 17/05/2005 04:23:42 »
From your description I thought I'd had this once but it turned out I was just dreaming. Perhaps this is the case with other people but they just don't realise they are dreaming.

Tim