The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Metal which cools when current is applied?  (Read 9899 times)

Offline Chopper

• First timers
    • View Profile
Metal which cools when current is applied?
« on: 09/05/2005 01:09:40 »
Just wondering if there was a metal which cools when an electric current is applied?

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
Re: Metal which cools when current is applied?
« Reply #1 on: 09/05/2005 03:49:31 »
Wocha Chopper !!.............I'm not an expert on this, but I can't see how passing an electric current through a metal would cool it down. Doesn't the very nature of passing electricity through metal generate heat ?

Lets hope a passing ' electricity through metal' expert can answer this.

Men are the same as women.... just inside out !!
« Last Edit: 09/05/2005 11:40:08 by neilep »

Offline daveshorts

• Neilep Level Member
  • Physics, Experiments
    • View Profile
    • http://www.chaosscience.org.uk
« Reply #2 on: 09/05/2005 10:43:10 »
Due to various bits of thermodynamics, you can't make heat dissappear, just move it around with a heat pump - this is what a fridge does.

You cannot do this with a single metal, but if you have two types of metal or more effiently two types of semiconductor you can make a heat pump. If you have two metals where the electrons are at different potential energies normally.

If you then pass a current from the low energy metal to the high energy one, only the electrons with lots of energy (the hot ones) have enough energy to get into the high energy metal. So if you keep taking away the hot electrons from the low energy metal it will get cold - this is how a peltier cooler works.

In order to make a circuit you then have to connect the high potential metal back to the cold one - here the electrons gain energy by going down the slope and release this as heat. So the system pumps heat from  one junction to the other - a heat pump