The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How can I articulate that skin colour and intelligence are not genetically linked?  (Read 7769 times)

Offline damiri

• First timers
  • Armchair Scientist
    • View Profile
Damiri asked the Naked Scientists:

Greetings from Colorado, USA!

I am new to newbielink:http://www.thenakedscientists.com/HTML/podcasts/ [nonactive] and I'm enjoying it immensely; thank you!
I am a Biology Major at Metro State University, and I have a question.
I have a friend who has got mistaken notions about genetics and race. He believes that intelligence is passed along with the same genes for skin color.

Yes, that means he is a racist, I'm sorry to say. He's a very old friend, and I didn't know about this large problem of his until recently. So, rather than drop him, I'm trying to educate him on this mistaken notion.

I've already told him I thought the idea that genes for "intelligence", (by that I got him to say he meant problem solving and invention), travel along with the same genes as for skin color. His real meaning is that if you are brown you are not very smart. Now, I know his attitude is reprehensible, but what I really want to know is, how do I explain why this hypothesis is unlikely?

I could write what I think I understand about this already, but I'd rather here the straight up skinny from The Naked (in Colorado we say "nekkid") Scientists.

Cheers and thank you for your help.

What do you think?

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Your friend may have a point, (and no I'm not Asian) ...

THIRTY YEARS OF RESEARCH ON RACE
DIFFERENCES IN COGNITIVE ABILITY

J. Philippe Rushton
The University of Western Ontario
Arthur R. Jensen
University of California, Berkeley

The East Asian children in Hong Kong and Japan obtained the highest IQs, followed in descending order by the White children in Britain and Ireland, and then the Black children in South Africa.