The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How can I shock a fly?  (Read 5482 times)

ntrantan

How can I shock a fly?
« on: 02/03/2009 10:30:02 »
ntrantan asked the Naked Scientists:

Dear Dr. Smith,

My name is Khoi Tran. I'm an undergraduate working under Dr. Michael Rose in the University of California, Irvine. I'm currently trying to set up a procedure to track fruit fly memory performance over time. I'm very
interested in using a shock treatment combined with the release of an odour to test the flies' memory.

Unfortunately, I'm having a lot of problem trying to come up with a specific experimental set up to get this done. I've been considering covering the inside of the fly cage with foil, then introduce the current to shock them. This doesn't work very well, however, since we don't get enough surface contact between the flies and the foil surface. I understand that you're very knowledgeable in this field. As such, I'd greatly appreciate any valuable pointer you may spare regarding
this specific set up.

Thank you very much.
Sincerely yours,
Khoi Tran

What do you think?

Offline Don_1

• Neilep Level Member
  • A stupid comment for every occasion.
    • View Profile
    • Knight Light Haulage
How can I shock a fly?
« Reply #1 on: 02/03/2009 13:12:25 »
Could a pulse of intense light do the trick?

Offline Madidus_Scientia

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
How can I shock a fly?
« Reply #2 on: 02/03/2009 18:21:59 »
I've no idea how conductive a drosopholia is, but it's probably more insulative than the aluminium, and the current taking the most conductive route doesn't bother to go through the fly. But what if you forced a current through a lining that was less conductive than the fly?

Offline LeeE

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
How can I shock a fly?
« Reply #3 on: 02/03/2009 18:25:49 »