The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What are the principles of electrolysis?  (Read 5197 times)

Gerald McCollum

What are the principles of electrolysis?
« on: 18/03/2009 05:30:03 »
Gerald McCollum  asked the Naked Scientists:

I have a question about electrolysis.

Basically, everything about the process.   I know the basics of needing a DC power source, two electrodes, a liquid medium to place the electrodes into and an understanding about the reactivity of metals.

Since I am new to this, I do not know the details. How much voltage to apply for a certain amount of time for a measured thickness of deposit on the cathode, or what would be the best salt solution of a particular metal to use? Or would applying heat to the electrolyte solution help or hurt the process?  

When trying to form a specific metal deposit on an electrode what is the best metal solution to use? Example: If I wanted to deposit a thin layer of magnesium or tin or zinc or bismuth or silver, etc what would be the best electrolyte to use?

As I said, I am new to this and I know a little about the basics, but I don't know about the specifics of how much voltage, percentage of solution, time per thickness of a metal layer deposited on an electrode and other specifics that I haven't mentioned here.

Is there a place online that would have the specifics that I am looking for and/or can you provide some answers?

Thank you very much.

Gerald
USA

What do you think?

Offline Raghavendra

• Quantum
    • View Profile
    • Raghavendra
« Reply #1 on: 23/03/2009 10:58:47 »
hmmmm

Offline lancenti

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 23/03/2009 12:51:21 »
Since I am new to this, I do not know the details. How much voltage to apply for a certain amount of time for a measured thickness of deposit on the cathode, or what would be the best salt solution of a particular metal to use? Or would applying heat to the electrolyte solution help or hurt the process?