The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can viruses survive in water, including rivers?  (Read 11248 times)

Offline Pixie

• First timers
  • Just This side Of Reality
    • View Profile
Can viruses survive in water, including rivers?
« on: 26/03/2009 21:12:43 »
Hi! I'm new to the forum so I'll start with a quick intro. I'm Paula, I'm 25 and I'm from Glasgow, Scotland. My partner and I have two kids. He is a chef and I'm a writer.

Anyway- to the viruses.

I'm doing some research for my next piece and need to ask about viruses harboured by rivers or on riverbeds. Which are the most deadly and how do they mutate?

Please forgive me if I ask a lot more ridiculous and random questions. It helps me in my field to try to know what I'm talking about so a story seems more viable! Also, I'm generally quite a curious person anyway. Thanks!
« Last Edit: 07/04/2009 22:06:26 by chris »

blakestyger

Re: Can viruses survive in water, including rivers?
« Reply #1 on: 26/03/2009 23:29:49 »
I've just Googled viruses in rivers - having an interest in the things myself - and there's loads of stuff.

(This probably isn't in the true spirit of TNS, but Dexter is about to start). ;D

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 27/03/2009 12:50:14 »
Anyway- to the viruses.

I'm doing some research for my next piece and need to ask about viruses harboured by rivers or on riverbeds.
 Which are the most deadly and how do they mutate?

New viruses can be created when a host is simultaneously infected by two different viruses ...

Here's a topical virus-in-water idea: ancient virus, (pathogenic to humans), trapped in Arctic ice for millennia, released into oceans by global warming (melting ice).

Bugger, its been done ... http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/global-warming-death-in-the-deepfreeze-508727.html

[BTW don't confuse viruses with bacteria ... http://www.foodsafety.gov/~dms/qa-fdb38.html]
« Last Edit: 27/03/2009 13:23:43 by RD »