The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can we model the future of energy provisioning after the Internet?  (Read 5018 times)

Offline engrByDayPianstByNight

• View Profile
I attended a talk today here at Cornell University by Robert Metcalfe, the inventor of the Ethernet. He talked about the concept of Enernet, a concept in which the future of energy generation, distribution, and utility is envisioned to be modeled after today's Internet. For example, it may have a layered structure, similar the Internet OSI protocol stack, and the management of the energy supply may take various approaches, e.g., centralized vs. distributed.

I find this concept fascinating, since I'm not in any energy-related field of study (my background is wireless communications), and never thought of the Internet as a template for another type of infrastructure (Internet is still, in my opinion, not mature enough). I wonder if anybody on this forum may have some thing to say about this concept. Specifically, is there any trend, or some tiny evidence, in the energy sector that seems to validate this Enernet concept? 

Thanks.

Offline graham.d

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
You can certainly feed electricity back to the grid from your own personal generator (for example if you have a stream flowing through your garden and your own mini hydro system, or have a suitable wind turbine) and get paid for it. It is a bit of a hassle at the moment but I guess the idea would be to expand this concept to allow mixing of numerous  small, intermittent suppliers with the large generating companies. I am not sure whther this is a good analogy to the internet or not.

• View Profile