The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What is the Precious Metal content in electronics?  (Read 18023 times)

Offline JackDud

• First timers
    • View Profile
  Hello, all, I'm a long term listener and lurker, and now I'm pressed with some questions so I thought what better than to turn to the brilliant minds of the Naked Science forum. I'm a first year college student working on my final paper for a 'sustainable cities' course. I am exploring the feasibility of starting an end-of-life (e-waste) recycling facility specific to NYC. I need to do some number crunching, and I for the life of me cannot find satisfying statistics. If anyone knows the concentration or amount of precious metals in any sort of electronics (PCs would be most useful) then please fill me in (with citations and references if possible)! Any other e-waste statistics would be interesting as well. So far, the following link is the best information I could find - newbielink:http://ewasteguide.info/valuable_materials_in_e_waste [nonactive] - but it does not seem academic or satisfying enough (all of the <0.1 stats). I'm not trying to get you guys to do my research as I have already found most of what I need, but it seems that I have hit a brick wall on this particular part. Cheers, thanks for any help!  [O8)](<- I was dying to use that)

MOD EDIT: Hi Jack, I have taken the liberty of slightly modifying the title of your topic to be in the form of a question in line with Forum Policy. Please remember to do this on future topics. Thanks for posting! Geezer
« Last Edit: 04/01/2010 18:56:40 by Geezer »

Offline graham.d

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Re: What is the Precious Metal content in electronics?
« Reply #1 on: 10/04/2009 11:02:47 »