The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Why are UK and US accents so different?  (Read 6665 times)

Freyda

Why are UK and US accents so different?
« on: 12/04/2009 19:30:01 »
Freyda asked the Naked Scientists:

I am new to your show and I have become obsessed. I hail from New Orleans and I have downloaded podcasts from back in the day.. for listening while I jog.

One reason that I love the show is that I love to listen to ya'll talk.  I
love your accents, except Phil, I can't understand a word he says (LOL).

My question is about accents. The UK and The US are both english speaking starting with the UK. How and why is the American accent  different from yours, why is the Australian accent so similiar to yours?

Thanks and keep it coming
Freyda Staten DVM

What do you think?

Offline DrN

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 12/04/2009 19:46:38 »
In my opinion, its a reflection on where the originating population came from.

Australia was a British penal colony, so I would guess the accent would have come mainly from British people. From what I understand, a large number of people came from East Anglia, which would explain why the accent and slang is so similar to the Norfolk dialect!! Conversely, the original inhabitants of the US came from all over the place, especially Europe, and I find it interesting to note that many Europeans speak English with a slightly American accent, even when they learned in England.

Also, like anything, language evolves. This includes dialects - and it explains the occurence of regional dialects within the same country. Essentially, when a group of people become isolated from other groups of similar people, their accents, and give them long enough, the actual words they use, will change.

Offline graham.d

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 12/04/2009 20:13:46 »