The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: smoke to dust?  (Read 5761 times)

Offline kitin21

• First timers
    • View Profile
smoke to dust?
« on: 04/07/2005 15:26:53 »
hi! i need ur help guys.. i'm a computer engineering student and we have our thesis and we plan to propose something like smoke to dust transformation.. a filtering system that's knda automated.. since we know that pollution is a common problem. now my question is.. is there a chemical which can actually transform a smoke into dust? something that is non-toxic?

wat we plan to build is something like.. once the smoke enters an exhaust fan, the fumes of smoke will then be contained in a tube-like container and upon meeting the specific amount of smoke, it will then emit an equivalent reagent thus turning smoke into dust.

therefore, i really really need a help here guys.. is there a chemical reagent that can transform fumes of smoke into dust? tnx guys.. and.. sori if my english is bad..

Offline simeonie

• View Profile
    • http://www.simeonie.co.uk
Re: smoke to dust?
« Reply #1 on: 04/07/2005 16:00:25 »
Erm are you sure this is possible at all? Coz it seems a bit far out

----------------------
-__- my website!!!!
http://www.simeonie.co.uk
has forums too!
Think about it! lolz

Offline rabeldin

• View Profile
    • http://www.stormloader.com/dickbeldin
« Reply #2 on: 04/07/2005 18:01:52 »
What do you see as the difference between smoke and dust? Concentration, particle size, ...?

R A Beldin,
Improbable Statistician

Offline gsmollin

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 05/07/2005 14:15:31 »
Particle size, for sure. Smoke particles are angstrom size, which is why they block visible light so well. Dust is pretty large, 5 microns and up to visible size. This concept seeks to clump the smoke particles together to make big dust particles. I'm not an expert on this; the only way I know this has been done is with electrostatic precipitators.