The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Did we land on the moon?  (Read 202830 times)

Offline BP

• First timers
    • View Profile
Did we land on the moon?
« on: 19/06/2003 19:25:32 »
I have a friend that does not believe we landed on the moon.  He says this because there are no stars in the backgroud of the pictures that were taken while up there on the moon.  Does anyone know why that is?

Offline Ians Daddy

• View Profile
Re: Did we land on the moon?
« Reply #1 on: 19/06/2003 20:03:03 »
As an ex-Navy photographer, I can speculate that it had alot to do with the lighting. Since there must have been an issue with lighting and apature (light allowance) settings, as well as flash issues, the amount of surrounding darkness would cause for a difficult shot. I've heard all the conspiracy theories about us not actually landing on the moon, but staging it in a studio in order to win the "Space Race". My belief is that we indeed landed there and the picture is authentic. The stars were there, we just couldn't see them. It would be like in a film where the subject comes into focus in the foreground after we've been focused on the background, or vice versa. The subject (astronaut) was in focus (foreground) and the stars were not (background).
Then again, it could all have been a hoax and we've all been duped into believing that we were there by a plotting and evil government.
Just a thought.

What's on the dark side of the moon? I've heard that we have clandestine labs for the ultra wealthy powers of the world and that Elvis and Colonel Sanders hang out up there... :)

Offline Donnah

• Ma-Donnah
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 20/06/2003 02:22:41 »
quote:
Originally posted by Ians Daddy

What's on the dark side of the moon?

Pink Floyd.

Offline Quantumcat

• The Kitty Down Under
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 20/06/2003 03:03:28 »