The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Question about radio-active iodine....  (Read 4347 times)

Offline CluelessAboutScience

• First timers
    • View Profile
Question about radio-active iodine....
« on: 12/06/2009 04:37:51 »
I'm not a scientist.  I'm a writer.  And, please don't laugh, but I've been working on a story line and I had a dream last night that gave me a little piece of an idea and I've been researching it all day.  So, I've only got parts of the puzzle for my idea and I'm hoping a science person can help me flesh it out. 

The story is a psychological thriller playing a little off the idea from the 1940s movie "gaslight".  In this case, a woman's husband is "gaslighting" her, but not literally with gas lights.  Instead, he's a doctor and he's laced one of her cigarettes with radio-active iodine.  He has some sort of electronic device that he uses when he's around her to manipulate the activity level of the radio-active iodine which, in turn causes her to feel either tired and worn out if the radio-activity is elevated (since her thyroid isn't working right) or to "recover" and "feel better" by lowering the radio-activity level. 

My question is this:  What type of electronic device (small, ideally pocket-sized,  or,if necessary, briefcase or backpack sized) could manipulate the activity of radio-active iodine in this way???

I came up with the idea after having this dream that people were walking around a woman causing her to "suffocate".  I've been researching all day what, in the real world, could really make a scenario like this happen.  I started with the biological symptoms which eventually took me to thyroid disease where, in turn, I read about radio-active iodine and my imagination just ran from there.