The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Do water droplets in space alter the colour of sunlight?  (Read 1523 times)

gary byars

gary byars  asked the Naked Scientists:

Dear Sir/Madam

I have a question which I hope you may spare a moment answer, as a graphic designer I utilise colour theory for print (CMYK) and web design (RGB).

My question is: -
As there are no water droplets in outer space to split the colour spectrum. How is it when you see images taken from outer space, the pictures are in full colour and not a reddish colour or for even a colour camera to work at all, as it’s designed for the human eye?  
My brief understanding

The simplest example of the visible spectrum is the colours of the rainbow. Newton 's Experimentum Crucis show that Blue light is refracted more than red light and so the colours of the spectrum are displaced by different amounts on passing through spherical water droplets.

The humans eye has 2 rods (Shades of grey) and 3 cones (RGB) which detect the colour spectrum on passing through the spherical water droplets (that's why the sky is blue),

Naturally Red travels faster than blue, as blue is the warmest part of a flame and is the hottest colour

I understand that the Hubble telescope sends data which is then constructed onto an image and that the Suns real colour is a greenish brown colour and we view it as yellow, because the light has been split up though water droplets

yours
sincerely
Garry Byars

What do you think?

lyner

Do water droplets in space alter the colour of sunlight?
« Reply #1 on: 20/07/2009 22:10:27 »
HI gary byars