The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What are treatments for the Epstein-Barr virus?  (Read 2832 times)

Graham

What are treatments for the Epstein-Barr virus?
« on: 03/08/2009 09:30:02 »
Graham asked the Naked Scientists:

Hi to you Chris and your team.

My brother, who is 60 years of age, has somehow contracted the Epstein-Barr virus. He is constantly losing weight and sleeps all the time.

He has had, as of today, chest x-rays to check for TB and they have come back clear.  We have searched the Internet and have seen stacks of information regarding this virus.  My question is what is the cause of this virus and how can you possibly help my brother?

What do you think?

Offline Simon Waters

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 03/08/2009 10:48:23 »
Hi Graham,

I'm not a doctor. Your brother should see a doctor.

Epstein Barr (EBV) is a common viral infection. EBV causes mononucleosis (aka Glandular fever). It is a latent virus meaning many people have the virus inside them, and it often doesn't cause a particular problem until their immune system is otherwise compromised.

It would be unusual for someone's first exposure to EBV to be in their 60's so I would suspect there is something else going on with your brother's health that is making the EBV infection a problem. Hence the need for professional medical attention.

In transplant patients they use the antiviral agent Acyclovir to control Epstein Barr. I believe it has also proven effective in Epstein Barr infection in AIDs patients. There are now a burgeoning selection of antivirals like Acyclovir, although they aren't cheap, and they won't address any underlying health problem causing the virus to be a problem in a particular person.