The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Sleep Paralysis - Hallucinations  (Read 3933 times)

Offline Student

• First timers
    • View Profile
Sleep Paralysis - Hallucinations
« on: 04/08/2009 04:12:37 »
Firstly I would like to say I'm far from my area of expertise, (I'm a student studying a masters in physics) so don't expect too much theory in psychology.

I've never had too much intrest in psychology, infact I always tease my friend who is studying it at university saying that it isn't a real science. However since experiencing sleep paralysis I've been deeply intrigued by it. We all know its often caused by stress and lack of sleep. I had two experiences close to my exams in my second year of sixth form (last year of high school for you yanks) and one in my first year of university.

My first one happened at home, I woke up in bed unable to move or shout for help. When realising this I had great difficulty in breathing, this lasted for 30 seconds. My second experience (a couple of months later prior to the release of my exam results) was again in my room, as soon as I woke up and realised I was paralysed I thought to my self 'ah its happened again, and here comes the suffocation feeling, I'll have to wait this one out too'. This one wasn't as scary as the first one as I knew I was going to be alright, but I wasn't so lucky for my third one.