The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Black Holes and light  (Read 2558 times)

Offline RealEarthling

• First timers
    • View Profile
Black Holes and light
« on: 05/09/2009 11:54:39 »
I am an engineer, but not a scientist - so a simple question:  If gravitational pull depends on mass, and if matter cannot be created or destroyed, then it seems that a BH should have exactly the same gravitational pull after Super Nova as before Super Nova.  So then how did light escape from this gravitational pull before the BH became more dense.  Logically, density should not matter if the amount of mass is the same.  ????

lyner

Black Holes and light
« Reply #1 on: 05/09/2009 12:02:17 »
You are right in that the gravitational pull at a great distance will only depend upon the total mass - not the density. A BH wouldn't be expected to suddenly start sucking stuff into it from all over the place.
The black hole needs to have a high enough density so that enough mass is concentrated with the Schwarzschild radius. A bit further out than that, you can expect some GR effects, due to the high gravitational field (which could perhaps cause a decaying orbit) but, if we (Earth) were orbiting a BH, the same mass as the Sun, I think we would orbit in the same year and with the same year length.
« Last Edit: 05/09/2009 12:07:00 by sophiecentaur »

Offline syhprum

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Black Holes and light
« Reply #2 on: 05/09/2009 16:23:02 »
An intriguing thought replacing the Sun by a blackhole of similar mass although I cannot for the life of me think how such a BH could have been formed.
Firstly it would be rather chilly and the alien astronomers from another solar system who had established an observatory here would have to rely on geothermal heating.