The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How do I build a ball counter?  (Read 6518 times)

Offline jakecee

• First timers
    • View Profile
How do I build a ball counter?
« on: 22/09/2009 15:40:58 »
I'm new to engineering so can anyone enlighten me please with what type of bcd counter and what type of 7 seg decoder i should choose? the voltage is around 5.1V after being regulated by zener diode. anyway the circuit I'm building is to count tennis balls. which ir emitter and ir detector are needed. once the tennis ball passes through, it cuts the infrare beam from ir emitter and so the active level switches from low to high (or vice versa) and thus triggering the counter to start counting and pass the digit to 7 seg decoder and lastly the 7 seg display lights up. if possible, can anyone tell me how to built the circuit and what type of components should i use? thank you lots lots lots!
« Last Edit: 02/10/2009 08:18:10 by chris »

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Re: How do I build a ball counter?
« Reply #1 on: 22/09/2009 17:24:41 »
The hairiness of your balls could be a problem, (not joking).

Because the ball does not have a sharply defined edge the IR beam will flicker as it passes through the hair at the edge of the ball.

Your circuit could misinterpret the flickering as additional non-existent balls, (i.e. over-count). 

Some sort condition could be applied to avoid this,
 e.g. only when the beam was interrupted for a period greater than X would it be counted as a ball.

[cf contact bounce ]
« Last Edit: 22/09/2009 17:35:03 by RD »

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 23/09/2009 22:45:59 »
Ready made counters are available for about five pounds (less than $10).

COUNTER MODULE