The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Would kelp be a viable crop for biofuel?  (Read 5516 times)

Offline Chris Sherburne

• First timers
    • View Profile
Would kelp be a viable crop for biofuel?
« on: 11/10/2009 13:30:04 »
Chris Sherburne  asked the Naked Scientists:

Hello Naked Scientists,

My name is Chris and I'm a biology student from California in the U.S.  I was just listening to your newbielink:http://www.thenakedscientists.com/HTML/podcasts/ [nonactive] from a couple of weeks ago, and you spoke about bio fuel agriculture being a possible contributor to dead zones in the ocean due to agricultural runnoff. 

I heard recently in my marine biology class about possibly creating biofuels using giant kelp instead of your more conventional crops like corn. 

I was wondering if this may be a way to contribute to oxygen levels in the sea while simultaneously creating a sustainable energy source for us humans?

Seeing as some of California's kelp forests are capable of growing more than 2 feet a day under good conditions, would this be a way for us to have our cake and eat it too? 

Any feedback would be appreciated.

What do you think?

Offline Karsten

• View Profile
    • Fortunately still only a game
« Reply #1 on: 11/10/2009 15:30:22 »
It might help, but I have a very difficult time to imagine that bio fuels will allow Americans, Europeans, and Australians to keep consuming energy as they do now. And that is not even speaking of countries like China or India who have large populations and would like to consume energy at a much higher level as well.

And I would like to see numbers that talk about how much energy is required to transform kelp into bio fuels. Including the machines and maintenance of those machines to harvest the stuff.

It could be a drop in the bucket. A very, very large bucket.

Maybe we should not worry about the drops, but rather the size of the bucket.

Offline Don_1

• Neilep Level Member