The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How did racial differences evolve?  (Read 7525 times)

Jason Fong

How did racial differences evolve?
« on: 14/10/2009 14:30:04 »
Jason Fong asked the Naked Scientists:

Hi Chris,

I'm currently an economics student and whilst I fully understand evolution when applied to most of the natural world, what confuses me are the origins of certain traits and aspects of human appearance. I have a few questions(along with my hokey armchair theories) all around the same subject matter. Oh and please forgive me if I mix up biological terms or just talk nonsense, I've not taken the subject since my GCSEs!

For example, we as a species originated in Africa millions of years ago, and subsequently spread to the other parts of the globe. Asia, Europe, America etc. I can understand why significant racial differences such as the variety of skin colours we have might come about, e.g. melanin is biologically costly to produce, if there is no environmental need(heat absorption or camouflage) for it eventually people who produce less melanin will tend to reproduce more than those who produce more melanin.