The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Illusion that the universe is expanding?  (Read 9533 times)

Offline Huxlly

• I am not a doctor. I has been working X-ray machin
    • View Profile
    • order delivery online!
Illusion that the universe is expanding?
« on: 02/11/2009 11:15:58 »
Could the fundamental constants in nature be changing to give us the illusion that the universe is expanding?

Offline Mr. Scientist

• Neilep Level Member
  • http://www.facebook.com/#/profile.php?ref=profile&
    • View Profile
    • Time Theory
« Reply #1 on: 02/11/2009 11:24:00 »
It turns out that a number of physicists have proposed that the speed of light varies. The idea that the speed of light in the past cone of the universe was many multiples of c, seemed to remove many cosmological problems.

One that I can think of off the top of my head, is the time it requires to allow light to reach all four corners of the universe. In order to create a balance in the equations with observational evidence of the background temperatures, an inflationary period was introduced. This moment which allowed the universe to expand faster than light itself, allowed light to reach all four corners of the universe, and create a homogeneous background of gamma particles. If we did not have this inflationary period, we would see clumps of the background radiation showing different temperatures, but this is not the case. Immediately, one can deduct, that if light speed was many more times c, it would remove this problem, and without need of some phenomenal inflationary period that occurs around -33 and -35 seconds after big bang.